Al BoydIn 1961, Allan moved to Riverside and became the first athletic trainer and athletic equipment manager in the City of Riverside.  For 34 years, Allan Lee “Al” Boyd served the students of Riverside Community College as an athletic trainer and athletic equipment manager, retiring in 1995 after serving more than 10,000 students.  Included were 13 State Champion teams, 54 Conference Champion teams, 14 Olympians and 15 NFL players.  Today, RCC staff includes 3 Certified Athletic Trainers and one athletic equipment manager.  Beyond what these statistics indicate, Al created, developed and nurtured more relationships with coaches, athletes, administrators and staff at RCC and in the City of Riverside than any other person.  In recognition of this accomplishment, Al was inducted to the RCC Athletic Hall of Fame in 2003 and the Riverside Sports Hall of Fame in 2005.

This scholarship goes to the athletic training student who possesses the ideals of scholarship, dedication, professionalism, sincerity, loyalty, citizenship, and humor; the ideals Al Boyd holds to be the most worthy of an athletic trainer. Al worked diligently as the Head Athletic Trainer and Athletic Equipment Manager at Riverside City College for 34 years. Al developed the program from its inception and his standards still hold true. The Athletic Training Program places great value on the personality, history, and tradition of RCC Athletic Training that was Al Boyd. Each year, RCC is proud to give a scholarship that honors a strong athletic training student and Al Boyd’s history of strong leadership. This scholarship began in 1999 and was changed to a Memorial at the time of his passing in 2007.

Past Recipients:

  • 1999 – Jennifer McBride
    University of Nebraska
  • 2000 – Roxie Charlton
    California State University, San Bernardino
  • 2001 – Nick Evans
    University of Nevada, Las Vegas
  • 2002 – Rebecca Horspool
    Brigham Young University
  • 2003 – Melissa Belandres
    California State University, Fullerton
  • 2004 – Riki Kirchoff
    California State University, San Diego
  • 2005 – Belinda Sanchez
    California State University, Fullerton
  • 2006 – Catherine Silvas
    California State University, San Bernardino
  • 2007 – Carrie Chittenden
    California State University, Northridge
  • 2008 – Evelyn Jaramillo
    California State University, Fullerton
  • 2009 – Scott Long
    California State University, Fresno
  • 2010 – Megan Pioria
    California State University, Sacramento
  • 2011 – Megan Frederick
    Point Loma Nazzarine University
  • 2012 – Joni Cards
    California State University Northridge
  • 2013 – Damien Holley
    California State University, Fullerton
  • 2014 – Jesse Williams
    California State University, Fullerton
  • 2015 – Brianna Picone
    University of Nevada, Las Vegas